Braving the LFR – Guiding your PuG to victory!

Now that it is week 2 of the LFR we’ve all had access to the Fall of Deathwing and have had a chance to take on the slightly more complicated LFR boss fights with 24 other special individuals all taking part in the Greater Internet Fuckwad Theory. I’m no guru, wise man, or genius but thankfully I have gotten through and killed Madness of Deathwing on the three of four characters I had time to dedicate to doing so. I know some other folks that I talk to have had some trouble on these fights and a lot of it has to do with people’s unfamiliarity with mechanics and/or poor performance at roles whether it is due to gear or general play level.

The ticket to success for me, is looking at the group in LFR as something other than what it actually is:

This isn’t to say that they are mindless sheep (though you could make that inference and I wouldn’t stop you from doing so) but more that people need someone to lead them. No one likes admitting they don’t know how to play an encounter or how a fight works and I get that, but failing to admit that and proceeding to wipe the group because you don’t understand is a much larger problem. Asking questions takes very little time and is much safer than assuming a fight is a tank and spank and then getting waxed by Fading Twilight or Impale.

While it imposes a much higher level of responsibility on me I will often ask for assist to do raid warnings and sometimes I’ll be passed lead outright after I start helping people out. I like leading these groups because ultimately I know that If someone doesn’t and the intolerant ones are left to run the asylum then the berating and name calling happens. The most I think I ever say that’s questionable is something like “Please don’t be a tunnel visioning monkey and DPS something other than what you’re told”. It seems to work!

The fights in Fall of Deathwing aren’t really so bad on the whole but what I’ve found helpful is a whole array of handy ‘raid warning’ macros that I drag onto my bar prior to every fight. They are as follows:

Ultraxion

macro 1: /rw If you do not get Heroic Will special action button, you need to stop and make the following macro  /rw “/click ExtraActionButton1″

macro 2: /rw HOUR OF TWILIGHT CASTING, GET READY TO USE HEROIC WILL

I wish i could stay on top of things to walk the tanks through their taunts as that is what ultimately what wipes most groups but that’s a level of management I can’t handle.

Lootship

Macro 1: /rw DRAGON’S ARE TETHERED, RANGED GET ON THEM!

Macro 2: /rw GET IN THE GIANT SWIRLY  NOW!

Macro 3: /rw RANGED BURN DOWN GORIONA!

These are generally obvious things but you’d be surprised how useful it can be to some people to have reminders when they’re tunneling

Spine of Deathwing

Macro 1: /rw For this fight, you will kill one and only one Corruption at a time which I will mark with {skull}

Macro 2: /rw Tanks drag the amalgamation right up to the plate, DPS burn it to 25% and STOP until 9 stacks

Macro 3: /rw Kill bloods on Amalgamation to gain stacks. Once the Amalgamation starts casting its nuke, THEN you can move away tank

Macro 4: /rw BURN TENDON! {skull}

Macro 5: /rw Rinse and Repeat folks, don’t turn into tunneling monkeys on me :)

Madness of Deathwing

This fight while technically the most complex allows for more direct hand holding via macros. I usually start out by manually typing in /rw the instructions to the encounter along with the platform order which I generally do Green, Yellow, Red, then lastly Blue.

The most important thing I find, as I have to be long winded, is to specifically state something to the effect of “I’m going to explain this now to the folks who aren’t familiar, please don’t be that guy that yells ‘gogogogogog zomg!’ because if they don’t know the fight we’re going to wipe anyway”

Once you explain the fight even if done very simply you’ll be able to coordinate to people via macros fairly easily. The smarter you sound and the better you play though gets you more cred when it comes to leading.

Macro 1: /rw DPS SWITCH TO LARGE TENTACLE!

Macro 2: /rw METEOR INCOMING! GET READY TO BURN IT DOWN FAST!

Macro 3: /rw REGENERATIVE BLOODS SPAWNED, BURN THEM DOWN

Macro 4: /rw BLISTERING TENTACLES UP! BURN THEM ASAP (SINGLE TARGET ONLY!)

<note macro 4 usually has to be spammed a LOT on the only platform its needed, #4>

Macro 5: /rw YOU MONKEYS STILL ATTACKING DEATHWING’S LIMB NEED TO STOP NOW!

Macro 6: /rw FOLLOW ME TO THE NEXT PLATFORM

Macro 7: /rw KILL PRIORITY: LITTLE TENTACLES, BIG TENTACLES, THEN DEATHWING

MAcro 8: /rw TANKS MOVE YOUR ADD INTO THE TIME BUBBLE OR YOU WILL DIE

<While Macro 8 exaggerates I think a little hyperbole goes a long way.>

 

So while I may be a little overbearing when I “lead” a LFR pug i find my success rate has been reasonably acceptable and have received compliments after killing Madness from people who have struggled in LFR groups to kill him. My hope is that maybe others out there can take the reigns and keep people focused while PuG’ing in order to down bosses that really aren’t that challenging. At the end of the day the encounter isn’t against some digital monster, it’s against 24 other people who may or may not be clueless and have no repercussions for their actions due to anonymity.

Good luck and happy hunting!

 

5 responses to “Braving the LFR – Guiding your PuG to victory!

  1. Pingback: Pandaria.nl – World of Warcraft Mists of Pandaria blog » Blog Archive » The Daily Quest: He says he’s very sad

  2. Pingback: The Daily Quest: He says he’s very sad | gQuit's WoWPress

  3. Pingback: The Daily Quest: He says he’s very sad | WoW Cata News

  4. Pingback: The Daily Quest: He says he’s very sad » »

Leave a Reply

