Translating Portal 2’s beautiful Easter Egg

Good afternoon all!

In my continuing efforts to procrastinate my more important articles I bring you a brief interlude. I’ve been going through some tough times in game these days and I’m struggling to find myself and where my home should be but…that doesn’t stop me from bringing you something special.

For those of you who completed Portal 2 you may have heard the *spoiler* beautiful turret opera sung by none other than Ellen McLain (GLaDOS).  What I didn’t realize when I heard it was just how moving the lyrics actually were on top of being an absolutely fantastic song complete with great throwbacks to the game (animal king turret).

The clip of the video

Here is the translation (taken from that youtube page):

Lyrics:
cara bell, cara mia bella
MY DEAR, BEAUTIFUL DARLING
mia bambina, oh Chell
BEAUTIFUL LITTLE GIRL, OH CHELL (also Oh Heaven, literal of Ciel)
che la stima, che la stima
WHAT A SHAME, WHAT A SHAME
la cara mia
WELL MY DEAR
addio
GOODBYE
mia bambina cara
MY DEAR LITTLE GIRL
perche non passi lontana
WHY NOT WALK AWAY
si’ lontana de scienza?
YES, AWAY FROM SCIENCE?
cara, cara mia bambina
MY DEAR, DEAR LITTLE GIRL
la mia bell
MY LOVELY
la mia cara, la mia cara
MY DEAR, MY DEAR
mia bambina
MY LITTLE GIRL
cara, cara a mi
DEAR, DEAR TO ME

Made me smile, all speculations about plot importance aside. Hope your day is going well and hopefully I can get something significant up soon. The translation isn’t perfect and I’ve seen a few permutations but the meaning is there.

Leave a Reply

